pentatonic scale

Pentatonic Scales

Hey guys,

let’s talk about Pentatonic Scales: one of the most popular scale in Music.

Pentatonic scales are very common and are found in cultures all over the world, from Celtic Music to African Music to Blues Jazz & Rock obviously.

We have two types of pentatonic scale: The Minor Pentatonic & The Major Pentatonic.

Both are derived from the Major modes that I will introduce you later in this course.

The intervals we have in the Minor Pentatonic scale are:

Root, m3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th.

In G, we would have: G Bb C D F

The intervals we have in the Major Pentatonic scale are:

Root, 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 6th.

In Bb, we would have: Bb C D F G

Starting from the first scale and using that in a vertical position we would have the 5 Modes of Pentatonic Scale, in which the first “box” would be the Minor Pentatonic and the second would be the Major Pentatonic.

Take a look at the PDF to get the fingerings and the exercises to understand the scale better!

Let me know if you liked the article!
Leave a comment below!

See you soon,

Davide Pannozzo

No Comments

Post a Comment